Philatelic Friday: Malaysian States

This week's stamps from my box provided me with another chance to learn more about another country. It was hard finding information about these particular stamps besides from online sellers, but this page about the largest flower in the world gave me some insight about the series and Malaysian government. So Malaysia actually consists of 13 states and 3 federal territories and for these stamps, they released a main federal one and then 13 variations for each state, making for 14 different stamps for each of 7 flowers. That's a whole lot of stamps! I only have a few from Pulau Pinang, and then one from Perak, but you can see the different coat of arms. The flowers are pretty interesting too.

1979 (reissued 1983-6) Malaysia

Leave a comment